What Is The Capital Of Ecuador? 

This article will tell you about the capital of Ecuador in detail. The first question is where is Ecuador? Ecuador or officially the Republic of Ecuador is a country in northwestern South America. It shares a border with Colombia and Peru. The official language of Ecuador is Spanish and is spoken by a majority of the population, though 13 native languages are also recognized, including Quechua and Shuar. Ecuador was once a home to a variety of Amerindian groups that were gradually incorporated into the Inca Empire during the 15th century. So, let us come to the capital of Ecuador

What Is The Capital Of Ecuador? 

The capital of Ecuador is Quito or formally San Francisco de Quito. It was designated as the headquarters of the Union of South American Nations, in 2008. 

Quito is one of the largest historical centers, least-altered, and the best-preserved in the Americas. Also, it is the first World Cultural Heritage Site along with Krakow declared by UNESCO, in 1978. 

 The capital city of Ecuador is locally known as la mitad del Mundo to avoid confusion since the word Ecuador is Spanish for “equator”. Quito has various historical sites and artifacts that people can visit and view today. Without any doubt, it is a place to live, cherish, and feel. 

After knowing the answer to what is the capital city of Ecuador? Learn more about Quito in detail. 

When Did Quito Became The Capital Of Ecuador? 

In 1830, Quito became the capital of Educator. It was founded on 6th December 1534 and the indigenous resistance to Spanish colonization continued. To know about it in detail, learn the history of Quito. 

  • Quito, Ecuador was declared as a city on 28th March 1541, and on 23rd February 1556, it was given the title Muy Noble y muy Leal Ciudad de San Francisco de Quito. 
  • The Spanish established Roman Catholicism in the capital of Ecuador in 1535. 
  • The first church was built in Quito before it was officially founded and after that, the San Francisco Convent was constructed, the first of about 20 churches. 
  • Then, the Spanish started to convert the indigenous population to Christianity and used them as labor for construction. 
  • In 1833 insurgents rose up against the regime of dictator Ignacia de Veintimilla. 
  • The Marcist Revolution began on 6th March 1845 and then in 1875 the president of the country, Gabriel Garcia Moreno, was assassinated in Quito. 
  • Then after two years, in 1877, Archbishop Jose Ignacio Checa y Barba was killed by poison while celebrating Mass in Quito. 

Quito, The Capital Of Ecuador Facts 

Here are some interesting facts about Ecuador capital, Quito 

  • Area & Population 

The total area of Quito is divided into two regions one is Capital city 372.39 ㎢ and the second is the metro area is 4,217.95 ㎢. The capital of Educator population is 2,800,388 as of the year 2020.  

  • Climate & Weather 

The climate of Quito is a subtropical highland in nature, while the northern region has a warm-summer Mediterranean climate. Quito has only two seasons, one is dry and the second is wet.  

Click here – What Is The Capital Of Argentina?

  • Economy & Finance 

An Ecuador capital, Quito is the largest city in contribution to the national GDP, and the highest in per capita income. The city has the highest level of tax collection in Ecuador, exceeding the national 57% per the year 2009. The currency of Ecuador is the United States Dollar. 

  • Sport 

In Quito, football is the most popular sport, followed by baseball, volleyball, basketball, and tennis. 

Places To Visit In Quito 

The best places to visit in Quito are 

  1. Pichincha Volcano 
  2. Parque Nacional Cotopaxi 
  3. Zoologico de Quito 
  4. Parque La Carolina 
  5. Quito Botanical Gardens 
  6. Pasochoa 
  7. Pululahua Geobotanical Reserve 
  8. Parque El Ejido 
  9. Pululahua 
  10. Parque Bicentenario 
  11. Ilalo 
  12. TeleferiQo Cable Car 
  13. Parque La Alameda 
  14. Parque Metropolitano Guangüiltagua 
  15. Parque Itchimbia 
  16. Parque Guápulo, etc. 

You can search more about the capitals of various countries on Webcapi


Does Ecuador Have 2 Capitals? 

No, Ecuador has one capital which is Quito but in terms of Income Per Capita, Quito stands at the second palace after Cuenca.  

Why Is Ecuador Called Ecuador? 

The name Ecuador came from the Spanish word for the Equator. It is spread across the equator, the country has also built an image to celebrate its place in the center of the world, about 24 kilometers from the capital of Quito. 

What Is Ecuador Most Known For? 

Ecuador is mostly known for being home to the Galapagos Islands. It is the 4th smallest nation in South America but more popular. 

How Many Capitals Does Ecuador Have? 

Ecuador has only one capital which is Quito. But, it has a total of 24 provinces and each province has a separate capital. 

What Is Quito Best Known For?

The oldest of all South American capitals, Quito is notable for its well-preserved old town, which was designated a UNESCO World Heritage site in 1978. The area was a market centre and political frontier before its conquest by the Inca empire, which led to its fortification as an Inca settlement.

Click here – What Is The Capital Of Delaware?

What Is Typical Ecuadorian Food?

Ecuadorian cuisine, the cuisine of Ecuador, is diverse, varying with altitude and associated agricultural conditions. On the coast, a variety of seafood, grilled steak and chicken are served along with fried plantain, rice and beans. Stewed beef and goat are traditional too.

What Is Ecuador’s National Drink?


Also called pinolillo, drinking pinol is a part of Ecuadorian culture and it is Ecuador’s national drink. People make it at home and you can also buy pinol in coffee shops and ice cream parlors in Salcedo where the drink originated.

Is Quito Ecuador A Third World Country?

Ecuador is an upper middle-income country. According to the World Bank, income per capita in 2019 was approximately $6,400, which is below the Latin America average.

Is Ecuador A Rich Or Poor Country?

Ecuador is a middle-income country with an economy highly dependent on oil and export agriculture. Almost one quarter of the population in Ecuador lives in poverty, most of them in rural areas. The rural poverty rate, at 43 per cent in 2018 , is almost triple the urban rate (15,9).


So, you become known to what’s the capital of Ecuador, which is Quito. Above, I have given you the best places to visit in Quito along with some facts about it. I have given you this to make you more clear and knowledgeable about Quito. In the future, if you go there then there are so many things to do in Ecuador as well as in Quito. Therefore, you can take it into consideration while making a plan to travel. But, for now, you have learned everything about the capital of Ecuador.  


Hope We Have Covered All Your Queries Regarding Capital Of Ecuador

Quito Is Capital Of Ecuador

Quito Is The Capital Of Ecuador

Quito Capital Of Ecuador

Quito The Capital Of Ecuador

Ecuador’s Capital

Capital City Of Ecuador

Ecuador’s Capital City

The capital Of Ecuador Is Quito City

Country Ecuador’s Capital

Capital Of Ecuador Country

What Is The Capital Of Country Ecuador?

What Is The Name Of The Capital Of Ecuador?

What Is The Name Of The Capital Of Ecuador Country?

Quito Is The Capital Of Which Country?

Ecuador Country’s Capital 

Quito, Ecuador

Currency Of Ecuador

Capital Of Country Ecuador

Which Is The Capital Of Ecuador?

Biggest City In Ecuador

University Of Ecuador Quito

Quito Ecuador

The capital Of Ecuador Is Quito

Capital Of Ecuador



To Know Some Great Stuff Do Visit HindiVeda

To Know Some Great Stuff Do Visit HowTat

To Know Some Great Stuff Do Visit IncludedNews

To Know Some Great Stuff Do Visit IndiaPlus

What is the new capital of Ecuador

Does Ecuador have 2 capitals